什么是云服务 ?

 

这是指云服务供应商透过其伺服器经互联网向用户提供所需服务,有别于企业透过其设于处所内的伺服器向用户提供服务。云服务旨在让用户简易接达所需的应用程式、资源和服务,并由云服务供应商全面管理。云服务可灵活扩展容量,以应付用户的需求。由于云服务供应商提供了服务所需的硬件和软件,因此企业无需自行提供或调配本身的资源或资讯科技人员管理有关服务。云服务的例子包括网上资料储存和备份解决方案、网络电邮服务、办公室套件和文档协作服务托管、资料库处理、管理技术支援服务和其他服务。

 

使用云服务有什么好处 ?

 

使用云服务可带来的好处包括:

 

  • 可共用数据中心,提升电脑资源的使用情况,并降低劳工成本和减少耗电量等,从而降低营运成本。
  • 可按需要灵活提供电脑资源,以便更灵活处理业务上的转变、缩短提供新服务所需的时间。
  • 享用云服务供应商所提供的创新技术/服务而无需拥有或管理复杂的资讯科技资产。

 

使用云服务有什么风险 ?

 

使用云服务的潜在风险包括:

 

  • 用户把自己的资料储存在云服务供应商的外部储存设施时,可能会关注资料保安由哪方负责和资料控制权谁属的问题。
  • 用户可能会被锁定须使用某云服务供应商的服务。

 

怎样在香港物色云服务供应商 ?

 

在香港,愈来愈多解决方案供应商提供云服务。二零一二年五月,政府资讯科技总监办公室公布已制备一份政府公共云服务供应商名单。各决策局和部门可透过名单向40个服务供应商采购公共云服务。这些供应商共提供超过300项云服务。公众可参考该份供应商名单,以物色云服务供应商。

 

应怎样开始使用云服务 ?

 

首先,企业应制订云运算应用计划。第一步是确立业务个案和确定已准备就绪采用云计算,然后应按订明的拣选准则审慎执行云计算应用计划,并根据明确界定的服务水平协议监察云服务的表现。本网站已载列一般应用指引,以方便企业转用云服务。

 

什么是服务水平协议 ?

 

服务水平协议是合约协议。服务供应商会在协议内订明服务水平、责任、优先事项,并就服务的可用性、成效和其他方面作出保证。有关协议是一项主要参考资料,可供用户比较和监察不同的云服务。

 

 

上一页 页首

What are Cloud Services?

 

Services made available to users on demand via the Internet from a cloud service provider's servers as opposed to being provided from a company's own on-premises servers. Cloud services are designed to provide easy, scalable access to applications, resources and services, and are fully managed by a cloud services provider. A cloud service can dynamically scale to meet the needs of its users, and because the cloud service provider supplies the hardware and software necessary for the service, there’s no need for a company to provision or deploy its own resources or allocate IT staff to manage the service. Examples of cloud services include online data storage and backup solutions, Web-based e-mail services, hosted office suites and document collaboration services, database processing, managed technical support services and more.

 

What are the benefits of using Cloud?

 

Potential benefits of using Cloud include:

 

  • Shared usage of data centres reduces operational costs through improvements in computer resource utilisation, lowered labour costs and power consumption, etc
  • Agility from on-demand computing resources increases flexibility for handling business changes and reduces lead time for providing new services.
  • Take advantage of innovative provisions from cloud service provider without owning or managing the related complex IT assets.

 

What are the risks of using Cloud?

 

Potential risks of using Cloud include:

 

  • Users may have security concern on the responsibility and control of their own data storing in the external storage of the cloud service provider.
  • Users may be locked in to a particular cloud service provider.

 

How can I find the cloud service providers in Hong Kong?

 

Provision of cloud services is becoming more popular among solution providers in Hong Kong. In May 2012, the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (OGCIO) announced the availability of a List of Government Public Cloud Service (GPCS) Providers, through which government bureaux and departments (B/Ds) can acquire public cloud services from 40 service providers with over 300 cloud service options. The supplier list can serve as a reference for the public to look for cloud service providers in Hong Kong.

 

How should I start using cloud services?

 

Firstly, enterprises are recommended to derive a plan for cloud computing adoption.  As the first step, they should identify the business case and determine their readiness for cloud adoption. Then they should execute their adoption plan carefully with defined selection criteria and monitor the cloud service's performance based on well-defined SLA. Some general adoption guidelines have been prepared in this site to facilitate enterprises to make the transition.

 

What is an SLA?

 

A service-level agreement (SLA) is a contractual agreement by which a service provider defines the level of service, responsibilities, priorities, and guarantees regarding availability, performance, and other aspects of the service.  It is a major reference for comparing and monitoring different cloud services.

 

 

Back Top